Dublin Core (Registered Trademark) Metadata Initiative logo and catchphrase: 
Making it easier to find information
Jump to main content: This Page
Jump to site map: New Page
Dublin Core (Registered Trademark) logo in banner
 
 

 

CNI/OCLC Metadata Workshop

Workshop on Metadata for Networked Images

September 24-25, 1996
OCLC Online Computer Library Center, Inc.
Dublin, Ohio, USA


The Coalition for Networked Information (CNI) and OCLC Online Computer Library Center, Inc. are organizing an invitational workshop to promote convergence among alternative approaches to describing images and image databases in networked environments. Professionals from computer science, librarianship, online information services, geographical information systems, museum and archive control, medical imaging, and other fields have been convened to address the description of networked image resources. The objective is to promote standards and protocols for the description, organization and discovery of networked images and image databasebase resources.

This workshop will build upon the outcomes of two previous metadata workshops: the OCLC/NCSA Metadata Workshop, held at Dublin, Ohio, in March, 1995, and the OCLC/UKOLN Metadata Workshop held at the University of Warkwick, United Kingdom, in April, 1996. These two workshops addressed the general issue of metadata in networked environments. The current workshop will address the metadata requirements of networked images and imagebases by refining and extending element set that comprises the "Dublin Core" and "The Warwick Framework" that resulted from the previous workshops.

Organizing Committee

Paul M. Gherman (Chair), Vanderbilt University, gherman@library.vanderbilt.edu
Howard Besser, University of California, howard@sims.berkeley.edu
Stuart Glogoff, University of Arizona, sglogoff@bird.library.arizona.edu
Eric Miller, OCLC, emiller@oclc.org
Paul Evan Peters, CNI, paul@cni.org
Bradley Watson, OCLC, watson@oclc.org
Stuart Weibel, OCLC, weibel@oclc.org


General:
High-level overview of the workshop

Schedule & Agenda:
Outline and framework of the workshop
Participants:
Names, email contacts, and personal and
project home pages of attendees
Conference Listserv:
Subscription information regarding the metadata
conference listserv

Navigate Listserv:
Search and Browse the metadata conference listserv

Additional Resources:
References to background metadata intiatives

 

Copyright © 1995-2014 DCMI. All Rights Reserved.